CMI Congregation

The educational institutions run by CMI Carmelites of Mary Immaculate fathers are born out of the educational vision of St Kuriakose Elias Chavara (1805-1871), an educationalist and a social reformer of the nineteenth century South India. In his childhood, Kuriakose attended the village school where he studied language and elementary sciences. He entered the seminary in 1818 and was ordained a priest in 1829. St Chavara founded the congregation of Carmelites of Mary Immaculate (CMI), in 1831 with a vision to serve the marginalized and underprivileged.

St Kuriakose Elias Chavara

This first indigenous Catholic religious congregation of India today has more than 3000 priests serving in different parts of the world. He was canonized on 23 November 2014 in Rome by Pope Francis. The CMI congregation inspired by the vision of St Chavara renders its service in educational, social, health care and other sectors aiming at the integral development of the society.

CMI Institutions

Education is being the charisma of the CMI congregation, its members have been well trained and specialized in teaching at all levels of education from its very inception. The CMI congregation has the tradition and reputation of one and a half century (150 years) in the field of education.

In India, the CMI congregation is running 510 schools, 1 university, 2 medical colleges, 2 engineering colleges, 17 university colleges, 9 parallel and B. Ed. Colleges, 48 hospitals and dispensaries, 129 social services and rural development centres, 1 science research centre, 16 printing houses and publications, 13 periodicals, 1 daily newspaper and numerous charitable institutions.

As a Christian, catholic school, St Mary’s School, Rajkot, strives to develop not only physical, intellectual, artistic and cultural aptitudes of children, but also their character, from the earliest stages by inculcating sound moral principles which are meant to help them grow up as good children of god and worthy, responsible citizens.

CMI Congregation
Christ University, Bangalore
Amala Medical College, Thrissur
Rajagiri Engineering College, Kochi
Santhigiri College Thodupuzha
Kristu Jayanthai College, Bangalore
St. Joseph’s College, Devagiri
Christ College, Irinjalakuda
Sacred Heart College, Kochi
Christ Nagar, Trivandram
Carmel School, Chalakudy
Chavara Cultural Centre, Kochin
Christ Academy, Bangalore
Marygiri Public School, Koothattukulam
Porukara Junior College
Viswajyothi CMI Public School, Ernakulam
CMI Public School, Thrissur
Devagiri CMI Public School, Kozhikode
Kuriakose Elias College, Mannanam
Jeevass CMI Central School, Aluva
Silver Hills Public School, Kozhikode
St. Joseph College, Devagiri
Christ School, Gujarat (Bhavnagar)
St. Mary’s High School, Rajkot
Christ School, Poonch
Christ Nagar Senior Secondary School, Trivandrum
Rajagiri Healthcare & Education Nagar, Aluva
St.Joseph’s Province, Trivandrum
St. Joseph’s Province, Kottayam
Carmel Province, Muvattupuzha
Sacred Heart Province, Kochi
St. Thomas Province, Kozhikode
St. Paul’s Province, Mysore
Preshitha Province, Coimbathore
Nirmal Province, Jagalpur
Marymatha Vice Province copyright@2019 all Rights Reserved